Positions sold Q2 ’17

Hey everyone, time for some portfolio changes!

I’ve been quite active last quarter on the stock market. Normally I don’t tend to be so active, however circumstances and thoughts pushed me towards it.

First of all, I was finally able to sell my Peugeot shares for a small profit of 8% after keeping them for 1,5 years (€135). They were a ‘heritage’ from my first investment days and I was looking forward to put this money elsewhere, more predictable. I don’t like their cars either. The smaller ones really have no comfort for the passengers. I thought I needed new kneecaps after carpooling.

psa-peugeot-citroen-will-test-fully-autonomous-vehicles-in-singapore_4.jpg

Secundo, I sold my position of 20 shares in food giant Nestlé SA for a profit of almost 20% in less than 8 months (€230). I sold them shortly after the activist news for 2 reasons. The multiples are getting pretty high and the dividend tax is killing me. 35% Swiss withholding tax and 30% Belgian withholding tax is just too much. These taxes take away more than 1,8% in annual return. Too bad, I liked the company. However, I like money more.

Color-of-the-Nestle-Logo

Next I sold Allergan PLC. I bought them with the prospect of the merger with Pfizer which unfortunately was cancelled. Fundamentals weren’t too clear in my opinion so I decided to sell my small stake and cut losses (luckily enough). This resulted in a loss of €297. Lessons learned.

Fourth and last position I sold was Wal-Mart. I bought them almost 2 years ago when they were on the slaughter bank. I got a 30% profit, being $725 (dividends not included). In my opinion they are slightly overvalued and I do not like the current retail businesses anymore. They are way too competitive and margins are very thin. Almost all retailers are investing big-time in their business and Amazon is another threat to be taken care of. It’s a solid company, but the business is not my cup of tea anymore.

WALMART.jpg

So far my sold positions... This freed up some cash of course, which was put to work in the weeks/months after.

In a next post I will discuss the rather long buy list with a net worth update!

Note: Normally I do not like to sell stocks of good companies, however this felt justified due to a changed tax regime or business challenges.

Have you ever been forced to sell a company you like because of changing market conditions?

 

One thought on “Positions sold Q2 ’17

Geef een reactie

