Financial goals by age 25

However most people specify a certain date or year to reach FIRE, I don’t. I do have a number in my mind but I don’t focus myself on it. The journey towards FIRE should be enjoyed and many obstacles will cross the path. In my case, it doesn’t make much sense to fix a certain FIRE date. In my current stage of life and the coming years, my whole life will (or should) be determined. Will I have a partner, kids, a real estate property with mortgage,…? Who knows… The future is too uncertain for me to just toss a date on FIRE. The parameters can vary heavily.

uncertain-future-1078x515

A thing with a fixed FIRE date is, what are you going to do when you hit the date but not reach FIRE? Are you gonna be unhappy? All the years of investing didn’t pay off eventually? Was it one big lie? Is living on lower standards an option to yet reach FIRE? No, it’s nothing more than a long-term guideline which adapts accordingly to one’s life in my opinion. FIRE isn’t the ultimate goal, happiness is.

Now let’s satisfy the number craving people:

At 01/01/2021, I will be 25 years old. I want my net worth to reach €250,000 or receive €5,750 in yearly dividends. The reasons I write this as an ‘or’-goal are the following: I can’t forecast stock market movements neither dividend increases. The date gives me a little under 3 years and 9 months to reach the goal.

I don’t think of FIRE as a one-lap sprint. To me it’s more interesting to set temporary milestones along the way to keep motivation high on the mid-term. This way it doesn’t seem like forever to get along with the process.

78a1a6731a90f35e11c468c99d4443b5

9 thoughts on “Financial goals by age 25

  1. ambertreeleaves

    That promises to be a big newyear party in 2021!

    Agreed with you, a Lorcan change between now and the FIRE date. After understanding the value of the journey and living now, i reviewed our budget to spend more on what makes us happy. It adds a lot of years to our FIRE date. Maybe i should drop that date all together…!

    Like

  2. Tall Investing

    Hi – just discovered your site. You are doing awesome, congrats! You remind me of the saying ‘the best time to start investing is 20 years ago, the second best time is today’.

    A lot of 40 somethings wish they made the choices and sacrifices you are making. Keep it up!

    Cheers,
    Tall Investing (a 30 something)

    Like

  3. Dividend Daze

    Smart of you to start so early. I know a lot of people who would have wished they did the same thing. Time is our most valuable resource but must like money, it too can be wasted. Seems like you have a solid plan in order so there isn’t a doubt in my mind you will reach your goals sooner than later.

    Liked by 1 persoon

Geef een reactie

